Small boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by BWD, Sep 11, 2007.

1. BWD

BWD Senior Member

Hi, been a while since I tossed an amateur "plan" up, but I have another.
    On the Chesapeake, I've long admired the bay-built skiffs, deadrise work and buyboats.

But the flat-bottom skiffs tend to porpoise and pound, and I might occasionally tow a skier or want to cruise sort of fast, while a 40' deadrise is a bit much for me. And I wanted to think up a solution different from the usual popped-out fiberglass skiffs.
    So, I have been looking for shoal draft, chop handling, and ability to cruise comfortably on plane. Looked at many S+G designs, V, dory, Atkins designs, other seabright types, "frogbelly" hulls, boston whalers, sleds, etc.

Then I started drawing and -surprise- same up with a 20ft skiff (is there a prize for the billionth design?). It keeps a little of the traditional look, and has developable surfaces. I like the near-plumb stem, so kept that in spite of the lightness of the boat, since I'm not looking to go in big water. So I have a wedge hull variation with little v in back, 6'4" beam, 1450#at 8" hull draft, & 2300# at 10," which is more than she'd weigh or carry. Rigged she should float in around 7.5” or less.

I realize it might not perform better than other S+G designs (at best) but to me the look is better, with a couple extra panels. Maybe needs a touch more flare -tough issue for me ( - I'm from Va but went to school in NC ;) ). Hoping it might run 20-25kts with a 70hp OB, cut small steep chop easily off plane, and if lucky run comfortably at 15 or so. Feel over my head trying to integrate elemants here, but grateful for any constructive feedback. Especially on those waterlines. You’ve got to start somewhere….

Done in Delftship, here are drawings, comments welcome:
    Edit: added a version with max V without changing lots of other things too much. Moves the CB aft to 6.25' from 7.5'...

Attached Files:

2. alan white