Self taught or not?

Discussion in 'Education' started by Hampus, Jan 15, 2010.

1. Hampus

Hampus Junior Member

Are any of you guys self taught? I was considering Westlawn, but as we are going sailing for a year or so, right now it's a bad idea. Both financially and due to lack of time. I guess I'll try to get started on my own. So, is anyone here completely self taught?

/Hampus

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

All of us!*

We otherwise would have a proper job and no time to doodle around here!:D :D :D

*except the unemployed, they once have learned something.

3. welder/fitter

welder/fitter Senior Member

Hampus,
    I was in a similar situation, where I started the CADD program with YDS, as a precursor to the yacht design course. I decided that I wouldn't have time to work on my course and sail to Asia, at the same time. Then I thought, "why not?" The trip is important to me, as is the course, so I have decided to achieve both, simultaneously. YDS does not have a completion time deadline and there is a large reading component to the course, great for those long watches & when I'm anchored in a bay. The value of doing the course, rather than going it alone, is the support, suggestions & advice gained from the instructors. The assignments are formulated on Rhino & submitted over the internet, so I can send them from anywhere I get a wi-fi signal.
    Best of luck in your decision.
    Mike

1 person likes this.
  4. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Yeppp!:p :p

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Every successful designer I've met that attempted to self learn what was necessary, eventually ended up in a course, myself included.

6. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

There are a few fields where self-learning is still very possible, e.g. mathematics, programming, and even theoretical fluid dynamics. I did it, but I was also lucky to have two exceptional colleagues who I could call on when I was stuck.