how much can one earn from a small shop?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by wet-foot, Mar 4, 2005.

1. wet-foot

wet-foot Senior Member

Would like some idea as to what some of you earn from small boat building shops?

2. Thunderhead19

Thunderhead19 Senior Member

In most cases, not enough to bother with.

3. Herman

Herman Senior Member

How to create a small fortune building boats?

scroll down

Start with a large fortune.....

4. bjl_sailor

bjl_sailor Junior Member

Economic reality versus boatbuilding dreams

I'm on my third homebuilt boat, the largest of the three (19', 12' and 14'). By profession I am a software engineer with a bum back and knees -- yet all I think about is sailing and boat building. I've been thinking real hard how to turn this passion into a career as well. For me though ,I am rather economically trapped -- that is, I am rather well compensated for what I do and if I choose to build boats full time ( and was 'succesfull' at it) I couldn't come anywhere near what I make. All the same, I have just signed a lease for a 40' x 50' ex auto repair garage. Very psyched as my next boat will be a 40 foot Dudley Dix design. -- I finally have weather tighe, 'partly climate controlled' work space for my equipment and materials.

My strategy is 'keep my day job' but I'm looking into using my computer expertise to build up a CAD CAM part time business. (I'm an Oracle DBA by trade but have about a year of mechnical design and drafting 'before I switched majors') -- I'm teaching myself AUTO CAD and it is comming along fine. I am going to build a 4' x 8' CNC router system and hopefully job out machined items as a partime sideline. This will provide me with 1099 MISC income. I can then show a loss for my part time "business" and at least write off my 'investments' in shop lease and tooling....

Not a way to earn a living but at least a way to make it a bit less expensive...

5. Paul B

Paul B Previous Member