Need an opinion or suggestion about catamaran design

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by catfahmi, Jun 10, 2014.

1. catfahmi

catfahmi New Member

hello everyone.
    i'm a final year student that need help about my final year project. i am doing a water wheel turbine for my project that need to use catamaran design as base or floating platform because we are designing a minihydro (hydrocat) water wheel turbine on running river water. This is an upgrade from the previous design of water wheel turbine and i need to use catamaran concepts as it platform.

i need some suggestion about the calculation and basic design that i can start off. how much the design can support and what else do i need to consider related to the design. with the attachment of the previous design of the water wheel floating platform(pontoon boat).

i hope that,anyone here could give some idea about the new design hull. the ideal length,beam and draft of the hull

Attached Files:

2. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Is your platform going to be stationary (anchored) in the river?
    If so you don't need any rocker to the hull, that will just reduce the bouyancy and weight carrying of the design, for a given draft.
    Why the rounded v shape for the hull cross section? Unless you will be trying to prevent sideways movement due to wind, like on a sailboat, it will be better to have a round crossection.
    On any catamaran design, having walking platforms at the extreme ends is a poor choice, there is no bouyancy at the ends to keep the "boat" level. Move them in as much as possible - closer to the turbine.
    To keep the boat straight in the current, have the stems of the boat slightly underwater. 1 1/2" each will do.