Need Advice with Houseboat Construction

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SNGPSo, Feb 4, 2021.

1. SNGPSo

SNGPSo Junior Member

Hello everyone,

I am an intern architect and I am building a houseboat on a budget. The houseboat is 14m x 5.5m (46ft x 18ft), including a balcony that goes all around. The interior space is 10m x 3.5m (33ft x 11.5), and the height is 2.85m (9.4 ft). The structure is a wooden deck with wooden walls. I designed it to be pretty small to help with construction difficulties. Please check the attachment for reference.
    Final Exterior Day.jpg

[​IMG]
    Final Bed Day.jpg
    [​IMG]
    Since I am on a tight budget, I was looking into the possibility of using these HDPE pontoons for bearing capacity. I contacted them and they said the maximum diameter they have for these pontoons is 60cm (23.6 in) with a length of 90cm (35.4 in): Hdpe Pontoon Fishing Buoy Floating Pontoon - Buy Pontoon,Fishing Buoy Floating Pontoon,Hdpe Pontoon Fishing Buoy Floating Pontoon Product on Alibaba.com https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/HDPE-pontoon-Fishing-buoy-floating-pontoon_1600094070499.html?spm=a2700.galleryofferlist.normal_offer.d_image.648d3febgrixGK&bypass=true
    dimensions for houseboat.jpg
    What would be the weight for such a boat? Can I safely use that HDPE pontoon with a wooden deck? I've seen people use aluminium for the base deck, but since my budget is very tight, I am thinking about using a timber base with sealants for protection.

I would greatly appreciate any help!

Attached Files:

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum SNG.

Only you can determine what the weight for this boat will be - you are the person who is designing and building it.
    You need to do a very careful weight estimate of ALL the materials that has gone / will go into the construction of the house boat.