wood planking on aluminium frame

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bertho, Aug 16, 2006.

1. bertho

bertho bertho

why not use to traditionnal plank on steel frame using aluminium, perhaps glue with polurethane and bolt with aluminium bolt on the first layer (can be strip plank half the thinness of the final planking, and two layer cold molded 45deg , with a sheet of fiber with epoxy to finish outside.. i have this system on my mind for a new 50 "sailing boat, did some expert have sugestion about this system??

2. Syed

Syed Member

I am not an expert, but I know that very dissimilar materials should not be jointed as the different thermal expansions will ultimately affect the joints. Concrete and steel have very close coefficients of thermal expansion; therefore the combination is widely used for building structures.

Regards,
    Syed

3. Richard Hillsid

Richard Hillsid Senior Member

My advice is to forget it, I have refused every “can you aluminium frame my old wood boat project” and always will. Why would you want to use aluminium frames on a wood boat, cost, strength or some other reason, it can’t be that they would be easier to set up.

4. bertho

bertho bertho

gents,
    wooden planking on steel frame have been , and stil use, since years, only problem is metal corrosion, why don't use aluminium to avoid corrosion and save weight?? bolting can be improve with gluing ( elastomere/sika) and have a more stable planking using laminated wood ? i don't see any problem with dilatation with steel frame, this system have been use by william fife for "small yacht" until clipper 100'++ !
    bertho

5. MikeJohns

MikeJohns Senior Member