need advice - comfortable 7m water taxi design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nuwanda324, Apr 3, 2015.

1. nuwanda324

nuwanda324 Junior Member

edit: I realize that my question down below is unnecessarily complicated. So i will write a simple one.
    I am designin a high speed vessel which must be good at seakeeping. Which hull type i should use?
    My limitations
    Length: 7m (it can be longer but not shorter for interior design)
    beam: 2,5m (it canbe wider but not narrow for interior design)
    speed: 25-30 knot (But there is a speed limit some of the areas which is 15 knot. So ship must behave good in 15 knot also)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello I am a ship engineering student. I am designing a seataxi for finishing project. But i couldn't decide which hull i should choose. So i want to ask you.
    My priorty is seaakeeping. I want to design comfortable taxi. 7m long and 3m breath is enough for my interior design. There is a 15 knot speed limit for my taxi. But it must provide 25-30 knot speed when it is needed. I cannot design for one design speed. My taxi should have good seakeeping in both 15 knot and 25-30 knot. First i tought to design a submerged hydrofoil boat, because hydrofil provide best seakeeping behaviour. But becasue of speed limit i cannot use hydrofoil. So i thought about choosing monhull. But seakeeping of monohull just not good enough. And then i realize length of my boat is too low and that leads to pitching. So for better seakeeping i must increase length. But increasing length leeads ttoo much resistance. I can solve roll problem by using catamaran but i can't solve pitching without increasing length. So i decide to use trimaran for just increasing length.