Layup on polystyrene

Discussion in 'Materials' started by eberd, Jan 24, 2011.

1. eberd

eberd Junior Member

Hi, newbie here. I'd like to build a wing sail using expanded polystyrene core with epoxy / fiberglass skin. This would be for an autonomic sailboat that would sail offshore for extended periods (like the Microtransat challenge).

My question is about what layup would you recommend for the wing skin.

The main element of the wing would be 5.5' tall, 1' chord and max thickness ~2 inches, stays running to the top of the wing. The total weight of the boat will be around 60 lbs.

The main challenge is to survive knockdowns, and while it would be very hard to calculate loads on the wing during a capsize and getting rolled by a wave, I thought I would build it like a surfboard, which are (at least some of them) constructed in the same way, and have to endure waves and a person standing on top.

Looking at various websites I found that some build boards using EPS core and 1 layer of 4 oz glass on the bottom and 2 layers of 4 oz on the top, while others recommend several layers of 6 oz.

Based on info I gathered I'm thinking of building the wing by first cutting the EPS core in half along the wing across the widest part of the foil, and make a stringer with a layer of 4 oz glass glued between the the 2 halves. With the skin, this would create an "I" beam structure. The skin would be 1 layer of 6 oz glass and 1 layer of 4 oz glass. I could maybe even use unidirectional carbon tape running along the wing on the two sides of the stringer to strengthen the I-beam. (I don't want to build the whole thing from CF, would be too expensive.)