Naval Architecture Lite

Discussion in 'Education' started by bigbowen, Jan 11, 2013.

1. bigbowen

bigbowen Junior Member

I dont know if anyone can help with this,
    I live in the Uk, I studied Leisure Boat Design in college but for various reasons the course fell apart for me,
    What i would ultimately like to do is work designing small pleasure craft, dayboats, cruisers inland waterway sort of stuff, however my problem is that a Naval Arch course is long and IMO too much detail,
    Does anyone know if theres a sort of 'Naval Architecture Lite' course, maybe 1 or 2 years that covers the main elements of boat design.
    OR
    is the fundemental course releveant to all and basicly I would have to study the whole lot and use the bits I wanted?

Any suggestions would be very gratefully recieved.
    Thank you in advance

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

3. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Do you want to get a job designing boats, or is boat design an avocation?

Is your primary interest the appearance or the engineering?

4. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

5. bigbowen

bigbowen Junior Member

Ive got a job designing on bigger work boats, on the back of the study I put in on the leisure boat design course and a CAD certificate, designing systems etc, what I would ideally like to do is design smaller leisure boats, the whole unit.

Im puzzled as what you mean 'appearance or engineering' to my mind they go hand in hand, what hooks me with boats is the appearance, theres something 'sexy' if you will about the shape, but to get that you need the engineering to make it work. if you mean the Naval architecture side, then you can design boats without the full on intensive 4-5 year Naval Arch course can you not?

6. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

"Design" is used in many different ways, ranging from asthetics and appearance to working out the technical details. So when someone asks about "design" they may be asking about different things.