naval architecture and boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by sele, Jul 8, 2011.

1. sele

sele High School Student

I'm a student and I want to design motoryachts , sailboats and maybe rigid inflatable boats . There are many universities but I can't understand which
    section is right for me.I want to use my creativity and my mechanical skills at the same time but for this I have to know the difference between the ocean engineering , the naval architecture , nautical engineering and Naval Construction and Engineering . Can somebody write the differences ?

2. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

In simple terms "naval architecture" tends to be for ship design, but it sounds like you want a "yacht design" course which would deal (generally) for boats under 30m

Also a naval architect may not design any vessel but instead be an expert in ship structures or stability

I studied yacht design at Southampton UK the only full time course available at the time. So I suggest you start your search there

The most popular correspondence school is Westlawn in the USA.

Richard Woods of Woods Designs

www.sailingcatamarans.com

1 person likes this.
  3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Ocean Engineering generally applies to the interface between man-made structures/equipment and the ocean. Piers, platforms, breakwaters, moorings, and now to a greater extent ROV's and sensors are part of OE.

Naval Architecture is the theoritical and practical study of the interaction between a vessel and the wind and seas to meet a specific mission. Boats, ships, submarines, ROVs, and thier associated arrangements, cargo handling, maneuvering, and propulsion devices are the field of the Naval Architect.