Best beam for Catamaran?

Discussion in 'Stability' started by sandersc, Jan 29, 2008.

1. sandersc

sandersc Junior Member

We are currently doing our own design catamaran. We are in the final stages now.

It is a very sleek hull with lots of bouyance towards the rear. It started of as 8.4m, but it currently is 9.44m. The total beam however is 4,5m. I feel that this my be a bit narrow. What do you think , is it OK or what should the minimum beam be. Oh yes , it is a sailing catamaran.

Cheers

Sanders

2. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

3. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

4.5m ? Is that a canoe ? :D

It will never be too wide (or too long for that matter) I started the boxy fisher at 8m x 6m and is currently at 10m x 8m. Still too small for all the fish I want to catch from it.

You have to keep the mechanical stresses etc in consideration, the bigger it gets the more attention you have to give to this.

I'm no expert on this, ok, I just know what I want and am still learning...

Also look at http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?t=18851

4. Ulf

Ulf Junior Member

If you are going for speed and intended to fly a hull most of the time then the beam should be optimised for the intended sail area and wind strength, narrow enough to easily fly a hull and wide enough to give enough righting moment in strong winds. Apparently Reynolds Design experimented with different beams for their R33 and settled for a moderate 14 foot beam.
    If it’s a cruising cat then I agree with fanie, as wide as practical. But wider beam increase the risk of bridge deck slamming.

Just my thoughts on the subject.

/Ulf

5. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

Could it be that you can double the sail area if you double the width ? Which should be faster then ?

6. Ulf

Ulf Junior Member

The one that dosen't pich-pole =)

7. Trevlyns

Trevlyns Senior Citizen/Member

Hi all you Saffa guys