refitting to a free-standing mast

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by cabinboy, Aug 14, 2006.

1. cabinboy

cabinboy Junior Member

Hi everyone, after many months of lurking I've finally decided to come forward with the plans I've been working on for a few years (what's the point in reinventing the wheel when you guys [and gals] have probably been there 10 fold more than myself) .

I graduate from college (university) in just under a year and before I start work I plan on doing some sailing. Being that I love working with my hands (why buy when you can invent, reinvent, improve, improvise, and ultimately build?) I hope to aquire a 28-34' boat and fix her up to sea worthy+ condition. Lately my plans have taken quite a change when I saw a junk rigged vessel and reading Annie Hill's book. Needless to say I've been bitten by the junk bug and there is only one thing holding me back, the mast. How can I safely refit a stayed vessel to an unstayed one? Will a GRP boat be able to deal with supporting the mast with a retrofitted deck tabernacle? There are a thousand variable that keep going through my head and all of them have a problem with the word "retrofitted". Luckily I can weld, work in glass/carbon, and wood so once I've worked out a possible plan building is just a matter of time and elbow grease. So these are my basic questions.

1) the possibility / difficulty in refitting a freestanding mast to an existing hull.

2) Possible mast material

2) a good basic (and ex-college student cheap) hull to use as a base.

Thanks in advance, I'm looking forward to quieting the design pundits in my head.

2. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

It's perhaps worth noting before getting too starry eyed about Annie Hill's Badger, that she did subsequently jump ship and go off on a very nice catamaran. It has been suggested (unkindly perhaps) that they are called 'junk' rigged for a reason.