My boat assignement.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Andreas, Feb 18, 2010.

1. Andreas

Andreas New Member

Hi,

I have no experience with boatdesign so i tough i could get help from guy's/girls who do know on this forum.
    I have to design a boat that autonomously goes from point A to point B (see pics), on the way to point B it has to pick up a playmobile doll, wich is standing on a pontoon, and place it at point B. (all by itself) The boat itself has to stay within the volume of (150mmx150mmx200mm).
    My only energysource that i can use is this (i'm allowed to use max 4 for propulsion and pick-up mech), it works with a spiral spring inside:
    [​IMG]

This is the top view of the watertank:
    [​IMG]
    Overview of the tank:
    [​IMG]

I was just wondering if you guy's could give me some advice about the best way to get my boat going, things i have to pay attention to,...etc

Thanks!
    Grts

2. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

And I thought that I had already seen every possible odd floating stuff on this site... :D

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member

The boat is not the problem. You can use something as simple as a box like object. The problem is to design mechanisms suitable for the pick up and deposit of the doll as well as steering the boat and detecting the locations. Your rules are not entirely clear but as I read the post, it would seem that you can not use radio control and the only allowable energy source is to be a spring. The spring can drive the boat sucessfully but the rest of the requirements will be a challenge. Tell us a little more about the details of the project.