Multisurf BASIC's

Discussion in 'Software' started by Rodrigo_G, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. Rodrigo_G
    Joined: Sep 2013
    Posts: 1
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: NETHERLANDS

    Rodrigo_G New Member

    Hi there.

    I'm new with multisurf, but i have some experience in Boat design using FEMAP (which is very limited but enough for what i need).

    I use the shapes i create to perform simulations, and in these simulations i only need the underwater part of the vessel.

    Multisurf in the beggining is very easy to use, but when you want to get a little bit deeper it gets a bit tricky. :(

    my question is about triming surfaces.
    Imagine that i have a draught of 7.1m in the initially shape, and i require a lower draft to perform another simulation (imagine that the loading condition on vessel changed), lets say 6.1m.

    is there any fast way taht i can TRIM the existent geometry by 1 m in the Z axis direction, and get the new shape for the changing loading conditions?? :confused:


    Tks in advance.
    Rod
     
  2. aleutka29
    Joined: Aug 2008
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Maine

    aleutka29 Junior Member

    By using the Hydro Component, you can change the loading condition and see instant changes to the hull. Hydrostatic output would instantly change in the model.
     
  3. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,994
    Likes: 252, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I do not know if you understand what you're saying but I do not understand you. How can change the hull when you change the load condition, is it perhaps a flexible hull?
    This phrase: "Hydrostatic output would instantly change in the model". I do not understand at all. Could you, please, explain a little better?.
    And what does that have to do with the question of Rodrigo_G?
    Thank you
     
  4. aleutka29
    Joined: Aug 2008
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Maine

    aleutka29 Junior Member

    Sorry I was not clear. What the component does is allow you to create a copy of the hull and it will "float" in a local frame depending on the loading conditions. The sink, trim, and heel are solved and you are able to display the results in the model by displaying a copy of the hull in that frame.
    If the loading condition is changed the hull would assume a new position which reflects that load. Alternatively, if you would change the hull shape, the hull would attain a new float position given the new buoyancy properties. Nothing new here, but to have it happen in real time in the model and not needing to go to a different application, is a plus.
     
  5. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,994
    Likes: 252, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I find it interesting but do not see it possible. I mean, if you change the boat, not only changes buoyancy but changes lightship weight which the program just can not figure it out.
    Even assuming that everything's possible, what for you need to make changes in "real time"?
     
  6. aleutka29
    Joined: Aug 2008
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Maine

    aleutka29 Junior Member

  7. Dr34m3r
    Joined: Mar 2012
    Posts: 132
    Likes: 3, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Finland

    Dr34m3r Senior Member

    do you mean to get hydrostatistics in real time change of draught ? i am not sure what you want too. or is it a reverse post from aerohydro guys :D
     
  8. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,994
    Likes: 252, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I think he is using big words with a technical appearance, 'to describe something that does not know how it works.
     
  9. aleutka29
    Joined: Aug 2008
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Maine

    aleutka29 Junior Member

    When the boat is changed the surface area changes. All the surface area is assigned a weight/unit area. Now the hull shape and lightship weight are updated and the vessel assumes the new balance.
     

  10. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,994
    Likes: 252, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    aleutka29, please do not insist. The lightweight of a ship is invariably much they change the float. Maybe you're using an incorrect term to refer to something else, but the lightweight of the same boat, does not change.
    This is not exactly correct because, for a long the life of a vessel its lightship weight does change, increases. It occurs as the elderly, who are acquiring kilos of weight with age.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.