Which one out of these small multi-hull designs will be the best for my needs?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Eli, May 1, 2024.

?

What boat would you choose?

1. Eagle 24

66.7%
  2. Duo 1000

16.7%
  3. Siren 8.4

16.7%
  1. Eli

Eli Junior Member

Greetings and good day,

This is my first post here. I have been browsing the forum for a while, collecting pearls of wisdom and experience.
    A little bit about myself: I have been sailing in childhood for many years. However, I have far less experience
    in boat design and multihull than many gents here. For a long time, I wanted to build a sailing boat for me and my family.
    Life is short, live your dreams; The more time passes - the more you realize the truth in these words.

I chose a Catamaran sailboat due to safety, comfort and speed.

Design parameters - a vessel that is fun to sail and race during weekends, and is also able to
    take a small family for a few weeks per year cruise in the Mediterranean, during the summer season.

Desired features:
    1. A fully enclosed center-cockpit helm, with all lines led to the cockpit for safe operation.
    2. Fast.
    3. Easy to build and maintain.

At the beginning I was looking at Dix Catamarans, in particular Dix 430, which is a very nice design in my opinion
    (except the small outside hangout space, which can be fixed). However, the build time of the radius chine construction
    is about 8000-10,000hrs, with a projected cost of over 300K USD. We are not rich, just ordinary folks - so I looked
    at smaller and more affordable 26ft-33ft multihulls that can be built at home in 1000-2000hrs.

The three designs I liked the most after a long search, that can be customized to our needs, are:

1. Eagle 24
    This is a real "gem" by Richard Woods, with an empty weight of 650kg and displacement of 1250kg this is seaworthy