MSc naval arch in UK

Discussion in 'Education' started by Rohit Deraj, Jan 9, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Rohit Deraj

Rohit Deraj New Member

I am a final year undergrad (NA&OE) from IIT-M.

I have already applied to KTH, NTNU, UMich and MIT. Will be applying to TU Delft, Texas A&M joint N5T etc.

I didn't apply to any UK unis till now. That's because none of my seniors ever advised me to go for it. I guess its because of the job opportunities. Want to know how are the job opportunities in ship building industries in UK for Internationals after graduation ? Can someone from Southampton/Newcastle/Strathclyde/UCL comment on it?

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Welcome to the forum Rohit,

It matters little, in terms of employment, where you do your MSc.
    Your objective should be to do an MSc in the subject and field of your choosing.....jobs, employment are secondary in that sense.

Because employers will not say... aaah... he only went to MIT but should have gone to Soton, or similar.

Jobs, are world wide and it matters little where you studied, in that sense, so long as the Uni, is a good and respected Uni.

I went to Soton, and there are many jobs available in the SE Coast of the UK.
    But they are all ostensibly in the small boat field, not big tanker types...

Study what you desire and gives you the most interest, not the location of "possible/sudden" employment.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2021
  3. Dr34m3r

Dr34m3r Senior Member

Ad Hoc, I have to disagree as being Asian and studied in EU.