Repair or Sell Steel House Boat?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SteelyDylan, Jul 2, 2018.

1. SteelyDylan

SteelyDylan New Member

Absolute newbie here who could use some expertise.

A bit of background, my friend was moving and was in a pinch to sell his old steel house boat, so I helped him out and took it off his hands for a very reasonable $500.

I was pretty excited initially because of the great patio space above the cabin and the interior was quite nice too. This was quickly overshadowed though when I put it in the water and within 24 hours the hull was half full of water. Fortunately, it was still in the lift, otherwise I would have been retrieving it from the bottom of the marina.

The marina owner was persistent on keeping it in the water, as he had no room to dry dock it, so I put it in a slip close to the lift and popped a pump in there which I now run once in the morning and then again in the evening. Seems to be keeping up alright but definitely a pain.

Anyway, I am at a crossroad...not sure if I should find somewhere to dry dock/ store for the rest of the summer and then try and fix the hull or whether I should cut my ties with it completely. There definitely is some major rust in the hull (pictures attached) and I'm not sure what kind of repair would need to be done in order to restore it. Everybody I talk to seems to have a different opinion. Some are saying fiberglass over the steel, but I've heard horror stories of the glass splitting when the steel expands. Others are saying to re-plate it, but I'm imagining this being quite costly, as I have absolutely zero welding experience (other than an introductory class in highschool I took 10 years ago).

Wondering if anyone has any thoughts as to whether a repair job is worth it and if so what would be the best way to go about it without costing me a small fortune? Thanks in advance :)

IMG_20180702_133938.jpg IMG_20180702_133514.jpg
    IMG_20180702_133327.jpg IMG_20180702_133433.jpg