Design of hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bigjonny9, Apr 7, 2010.

1. bigjonny9

bigjonny9 Junior Member

Hi, I am a boat builder looking to design and build my own planning hull. I would like to know the fundamentals of hull design and what i need to take into consideration when designing my hull. the length of my boat will be between 5 and 6.5 metres (15-20ft) and trailable. thanks for any feedback

2. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

Why wouldn't existing plans work? Take a look at Glen L's site. They probably have what you need.

3. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

If you need to start from the fundamentals, then I agree with Lurvio's advice. Choose an existing design (there are so many nice designs around - nearly everything has been tried and done) and concentrate your efforts and money on building a well-designed boat. As about learning to design, it will take you at least 2-3 years and a lots of printed books (not internet forums) to learn the basics. It is not a short-term process.

4. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

You will want the buttock lines straight for at least the distance that will be in contact with the water while running normally. The center of gravity should be close to 1.25 times the waterline beam ahead of the transom. You can have either a constant deadrise bottom or a warped one, but if it is warped you don't want to have a lot of warp if you are figuring to run at high speeds. Other than that, I believe you can pretty much do as you please.
    One of my personal preferences is that I think having the transom at the waterline somewhat narrower than the maximum waterline beam of the boat looks better than carrying the maximum waterline beam all the way back. The transom can be as much as 10 percent narrower than the maximum waterline beam without causing any harm.

5. magwas

magwas Senior Member

6. sorenfdk

sorenfdk Yacht Designer