My Design - Trifoglio 25' - Suggestions & Opinions

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by DVV, Nov 20, 2020.

1. DVV

DVV Junior Member

Dear All,
    this is my first post here. I am an avid reader, and I want to thank you all for the great insights found. I studied many threads, and some of them have been printed, and found their place in the Yacht Design Books shelf.
    To make a long story short. I am a 46y.o. man, and I love boats, anything that floats actually, especially sailing ones. Like many before me, I am trying to design my own boat, which I hope, sooner of (sigh) later to build. I love scow bows and junk rigs, and that's what I went for.
    I tried to design an internal ballast with leeboards, which I love, but it did not work out. I guess it is easier to design something similar to what you are used to see, and where I sail - Liguria, Italy - draft is not an issue. I therefore switched to a scow bowed hull with fin keel, which is also an idea I like very much. What I would like to understand better, is how to design the join between hull and keel. I have read many post about this topic here (thanks PAR) but I still need some (many..) suggestions.
    Is the keel bolted to the hull (so the upper part of the keel need to have a curved shape to adhere to the hull), or to an external thing, added below the hull with an easier flat surface?
    Any other kind of opinion or suggestion is very welcome.

Please be kind: she is the product of many sleepless nights..

trifogio_06b_05.jpg
    DVV

hoytedow likes this.
  2. Will Gilmore

Will Gilmore Senior Member

Welcome DVV,
    Your lines are certainly pretty. I would love to see more pictures from different angles of her. I am also interested in reading more about the design choices you've made, especially what you like about the scow.