Uses and limitations of fiberglass mesh tape?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by farmerben, Dec 8, 2020.

1. farmerben

farmerben New Member

I'm totally new at boat-building. I was actually working on concrete hyperbolic parabaloid roofs, inspired by George Nez designs.

I got a 500' roll of adhesive fiberglass tape for less than $10 reccomended for drywall joints and was messing about with dowel rod frames. I love the way this tape rolls around a round frame and sticks to itself. Weaving up many layers of mesh tape is easy. It is possible to get compound curves very tight.

I also started looking into skin on frame boat building. George Dyson has a number of what appear to be steel electrical metal conduit frames with skin. Most of the skin builders sew up a single sheet around the boat then heat shrink then epoxy it.

I like the way tape works in some ways better than a giant sheet. It is very easy to get tight everywhere. 4 layers of tape creates a decent cloth that acyrlic paint can fully coat and seal pretty well.

I haven't bought any epoxy yet. I was wondering if it is even worthwhile fooling with polyester epoxy, like bondo? Or should I order an epoxy that costs triple online?

I've seen tons of videos of people epoxying up strips of fiberglass cloth with ragged edges. Why are people not using fiberglass mesh tape?

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

I'd be surprised if drywall tape was ideal for much other than drywall, it is very "open", is it not, even if it was suitable in other ways, resin would run straight through it, and even if it did not, the glass content would be very low.

3. farmerben

farmerben New Member

This "drywall" tape seems more promising than fiberglass insect screens. I'm also tempted to get a 8" wide roll of roving cloth from amazon, that product has no adhesive.

Has anybody tried the mummy method for wrapping a boat?