Introductions and dream boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Tagged, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Tagged

Tagged New Member

Howdy from Texas, everyone.

As this is my first post, I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm not a designer, but my dad was an engineer, so I sometimes convince myself that makes me more qualified. I'm a liberal arts major, former teacher, and current lawyer. Math may not be my strong suit. (understatement).

I've been lurking here a long time, and finally decided to join, so I could see if you all would give some feedback for me.

I'm trying to decide what boat design would best fit my needs.

I've spent a lot of time over on Jacques Mertens's site, thinking I'd build one of his designs. I really like some of his boats. But I've yet to find one that fits my needs.

So I'm hoping that I can get some new ideas here. Rather than start with what design I think I need, I just want to post my "needs", and see what you all recommend.

Thanks in advance to all ideas. (design parameters to follow)

Tag

2. Tagged

Tagged New Member

Okay, here's what I'm looking for. I recognize that some compromises might need to be made.

Plan: Planing monohull for 1-2 adults or 1 adult and his 2-3 kids.

Primary use: Fishing small, shallow bays and tidal estuaries. Water depth 1-7 ft. Smooth to 2' chop. Comment: Much of the fishing we do is in very shallow estuaries, requiring a very shallow draft. But to get to the fishing grounds, we have to cover a lot of water, some of which may be choppy.

Deck layout: Primarily an open boat, with center console for controls, and casting deck forward.

Speed: Dream boat speed would be 40-45mph top and 30mph cruise. I'd be happy with top speed around 35mph and cruise around 27mph.

Okay, That's it. I've got ideas about what that boat would look like, but I'm not saying what. I want to see what everyone else thinks. Maybe I've been overlooking something obvious.

Thanks again everyone!

Tag

3. lewisboats

lewisboats Obsessed Member