Modelling Stringers - Solidworks

Discussion in 'Software' started by SLM, May 24, 2014.

1. SLM

SLM Junior Member

Hello,

I have designed a hull shape in Freeship and then exported this to Solidworks using an IGES file. This hull is to be plywood skinned over frames and stringers.

This is my first attempt at modelling a boat in Solidworks (although I have used Solidworks for years). I have quickly come up against a problem modelling the stringers. The stringers are wood say 40 x 25mm and wrap around notches in the frames and need to sit against the surface defining the skin. They will twist as they wrap around the hull. I have a line on the hull surface that represents path the stringer should follow. What is the best way to model these stringers and generate the notches in the frames. Any tips ??

Some of the stringers are running down the center of plywood panels and others follow the chines and need to be chamfered to match the two intersecting panels.

Thanks,

Steve

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

You could make an extrusion of a rectangular shape (stringer section) along a path (the curve on the hull).
    You may considrerar the chine as equivalent to a stringer. I mean, you do not need stringers near the chine.

3. SukiSolo

SukiSolo Senior Member

This is briefly how I would approach the modelling problem.

1. Create a new curve in SolidWorks along the chine line.

2. Extend the curve at both ends.

3. Create sketching plane normal to the curve, most likely the transom end especially if it is a vertical face.

4. Sketch stringer, and extrude (maybe sweep) along curve. It should twist correctly so check any options for normals.

5. Trim (or cut) the stringer with the offset (ie inner face of the hull). This creates the end result stringer.

This is a very simple model in Rhino btw, and yes I have used SolidWorks but not for a while. In the real world when you build the stringers you may find that it is better to laminate them to eliminate stress.