little concern on Hydromax + looking for Span tutorials

Discussion in 'Software' started by Et', Mar 2, 2006.

1. Et'

Et' New Member

Hello, I'm a french student in naval architecture (uk). I try to use the analysis of large angle stability on hydromax & after filling the loadcase I start the analysis but there is a window telling: 'try a less precise error values or more stations' :confused: => I've put 100 stations and the error values are at max..Is there some stages I've forgotten?:idea:
    Moreover is somebody have some tutorials for plotting polar diagram on Span?

Thanks a lot. Regards. Bye

2. Andrew Mason

Andrew Mason Senior Member

The error message in Hydromax is saying that it is having trouble converging on an answer. This can be caused by discontinuities (e.g. appendages, chine flats, bow thrusters) in the hull shape affecting the programs prediction of step size when iterating to get equilibrium. This can be due to insufficient stations for the complexity of the hull, so I would try using 200 sections first.

The problem can also be caused by very high trim angles (e.g. > 60 degrees) being used, check that your center of gravity is in the right location and that trim angles are reasonable.

If you still have problems with it, please email it to me at Support@formsys.com.

Polar diagrams are created as standard output in SPAN, if you are not getting them when you perform analysis, make sure you have angles and speeds defined in the Wind Data dialog.

3. fastfish666

fastfish666 New Member