Ply on Frame/Stitch and tape

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bigbowen, Apr 10, 2011.

1. bigbowen

bigbowen Junior Member

Hi All,
    2nd post on here so getting used to it now,

I have (possibly unwisely) bought a cd full of boat designs, which turn out to be largely photocoies of 1950s/60s magazines.

There are however a selection of design that are quite attractive. These are largely ply on frame design.

Now my point is, will the ply on frame technology of the 50s/60s transfer to modern Stitch and tape do you think? (I told you Im an amateur here ;) ) or do you think stich and tape will prove too flimsy, I do appreciate some tweeking of the design will have to be done, but will the transfer stand in theory?
    Hope this all makes sense to you all, Any observations/points/info will be hugely welcome
    Thanks
    Sam

2. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Yes many ply on frame designs can be modified for S&G. S&G does not produce a flimsy boat, just the opposite. Get Sam Devlin's book and he will describe the difference and how it is done. That does not mean that all boats should or can be done in S&G though.

3. bigbowen

bigbowen Junior Member

Thanks Tom,
    I do actually have Sam Devlins book in my library (of about 10 books) so Ill have a reread of that, I dont intend to go over at most 20' or so, so I dont think Id be stretching the idea, my main concern is that i would be underestimating the strength required in a boat,
    Thanks again, Its the permision I need to start experimenting with designs :D

4. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Tom,

Good job with that permission. Wish I had of asked much earlier in my life.

BidBowen,