Painting a 17' Century Resorter

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by MacSuibhne, Jul 2, 2009.

1. MacSuibhne

MacSuibhne New Member

First off, I'll state for the record that I am a complete beginner at this. There, record stated.

So. A few months back I was asked to hand-letter the name and numbers on a boat some friends were restoring for a client. They were new at this, so they just kind of have been approaching the whole project haphazardly. Within a few days, my part had been expanded to include painting a design all around the outside of the boat (to hide damage a previous restorer had made with a belt sander), as well as what we'd already agreed on. But, when that was almost finished, the boat was vandalized by a screwdriver wielding ex...which brings me to my question:

I now have to paint almost the entire outside (hull?) of this dark mahogany boat completely black. What is the recommended technique? I've told them that my expertise lies nowhere near boat-painting, and still it seems to be resting on me. So, now I share the burden of knowledge with y'all. What kind of paint should I be using? For the lettering, I was previously told that as long as I used an oil-based paint, I'd be fine. Does that hold for such a large project, though? And, since I'll be doing this alone, I'm assuming the 'brush-and-tip' method is completely out. That said, there was so much scaring done to the wood that he's told me he wants 6-8 coats of paint. Is this reasonable? I know he's already planning on putting as many coats of poly on after I finish my part, and 6-8 coats just seems madly excessive under that. It seems to me that I'll need to rent a paint sprayer to do this evenly-- and I've only got experience using a sprayer with latex paint on the outside of my house. Boat ≠ house.