minimum plywood thickness

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by ASM, Aug 13, 2007.

1. ASM

ASM Senior Member

Hello all,

I am a newby in boatbuilding and was looking at Atkins designs, a simple 26' straight sections boat, Tang. What would be the minimum required thickness of plywood sheets, provided one adds some more expoxy and glassfibre cloth over the wood ? With 4 mm plywood, would curves in 2 directions be possible ? (for Atkin Bam design)

Thanks, looking forward to any good replies !

2. Trevlyns

Trevlyns Senior Citizen/Member

Hi ASM and a very warm welcome to the forum!

I think, more important than epoxy and glass on the outside, is internal strength from bulkheads and/or frames and stringers. 4mm seems a little thin for a 26 footer. James Wharram’s Tiki 21 is stitch and glue and uses 6mm ply.
    I’m no expert however, and will watch this thread with interest.

PAR, where are you lad! :p

3. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

4MM PLY/ PUT your toe right thru it, I just built two 12 footers, 8mm, 12 on bottom, 6 would have sufficed
    Is she a sailing? or what?
    with strong frames you can bend 1/2" ply in simple curves, that is no compound
    With a longer boat you can bend one inch ply, biggest ply maxi ever built Buccaneer, 78 foot chines sailing yacht Won Syd/Hobart classic, so there ya go

4. ASM

ASM Senior Member

Thanks guys, information I can use.... I am playing around with the idea of self building, but for 2 years now... its like a virus, it comes and goes but never stays away. These are the two boats I was talking about:
    http://www.atkinboatplans.com/ and then search for Bam and Tang, preferred Tang but want a tumblehome stern and a top section like:
    http://www.messingaboutinboats.com/archives/mbissuejuly00.html
    so a mix...
    Would Tang be good in stitch and glue ?
    Plus I want to make it inboard electric..... !

5. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

ASM,

There are many sites that sell plans for you to study.