Mini Transat 650

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Indefatigable, Jan 26, 2016.

1. Indefatigable

Indefatigable New Member

I am an 18 year old amateur naval architect. I have designed a Mini Transat and i am looking to get some insight on the design. Let me know what you guys think and make some suggestions on changes i should make. I am currently trying to figure out CFD testing and would aprreciate ome advice on getting the mesh from autoCAD, Inventor or Delftship into OpenFOAM. Any help and or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Screenshot (10).png

high resrender3 watermarked.jpg

high quality render1 wwatermark.jpg

2. John Perry

John Perry Senior Member

I think you could do with comment from someone who has studied the rules of the MiniTransat and has an understanding of the special requirements of this kind of sailing, perhaps also someone who has taken part in the racing, so not me!

But, a couple of minor comments - you seem to have drawn rather a lot of guard rail stanchions - not necessarily bad but it is all windage. It occurs to me that with only a fairly small change to the shape of the hydrofoils, as viewed from ahead/astern, they could be made to slide inwards to lie almost flush with the topsides when not required to be deployed. Is this a canting keel design?

3. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

Attached Files:

4. Indefatigable

Indefatigable New Member

Thank you for the responses. Yes this is a canting keel design.I am working through the rule book trying to make it more legal. As for the stanchions are mandatory. The stabilizer foils are on the beam limit of 3 m and are fixed. i can foresee issues regarding beam with the canting keel perhaps. Originally i was aiming for a stabilizer foil system closer to the imoca 60 banque populaire design that would slide to leeward but realized quickly it would breach beam regulations for sure.

5. Skyak

Skyak Senior Member