mini 6.5 in Baltic sea?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Perm Stress, Mar 17, 2013.

1. Perm Stress

Perm Stress Senior Member

I wonder, how such an open ocean boat, designed for long Atlantic swell, would behave in a Baltic sea, where waves are significantly shorter and steeper; or worse still, in some large lake or lagoon, ~3-4m deep, where waves are like closely spaced brick walls, as compared to gentle hills of an ocean swell.
    Any info?
    Firsthand experience?

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

I have no experience. The Med has a short confused wave pattern and the minis seem OK with it.

Those Minis are designed for offwind surfing and ease of handling under autopilot. .

Coastal work, like the Baltic , means upwind legs. I wouldn't consider them a good coastal boat . Boats like the Beneteau Figaro2 would be better as a coastal boat

3. Perm Stress

What part of Med do you have in mind?
    The waves in parts I did happen to test (Aegean and Corsica-Sardinia) are a pure joy as compared to Baltic.
    ____

At first glance, I would agree.
    At the second thought, it is not so crystal clear:
    Upwind against chop they look out of optimal proportions, but extra righting moment gained by large beam and waterballast or canting keel, should help to offset this.
    _____

???

4. michael pierzga

I was just saying that the Figaro is a more versatile design. Minis are purpose built for sailing across the Atlantic. Personally I prefer a coastal cruising boat that is optimized for upwind performance. Not much surfing when cruising, speed can be dangerous inshore and a cruiser tends to be heavier with several cases of beer, plus fun stuff and anchors onboard.