Michlet - Need help

Discussion in 'Software' started by DCockey, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    I'm trying to start using Michlet and so far not much is happening.

    I downloaded version 9.20, extracted the files, and, and have run the Michlet batch file. Two windows open on the screen. One is "C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe" and just contains the location of the executable, "mlt920w". The other is "Michlet version 9.20" and has a combination of simple graphics and text.

    After that nothing happens. The Windows performance manager shows no CPU activity. out.mlt and drag.mlt both contain only "# BLANK".

    The screen commands work to view various plots.

    If I type the "esc" key two messages are shown:
    "Press y to exit, any other to continue"
    "*** Drag not calculated ***"

    How long does Michlet typically run for: a few seconds, several minutes, an hour, a number of hours?

    Does Michlet give any indication when it's processing or when it's finished?
     
  2. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    ddg51.mlt example ran. Any idea why it did and the in.mlt initial example didn't?
     
  3. daiquiri
    Joined: May 2004
    Posts: 5,373
    Likes: 247, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 3380
    Location: Italy (Garda Lake) and Croatia (Istria)

    daiquiri Engineering and Design

    Never tried to run the initial in-mlt file. Can you attach it here?
    It usually takes a second or two to get the results, not more.
     
  4. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    It's the in.mlt file when you extract the files. I've attached it as well as the ddg51.mlt file. The latter ran but took on the order of twenty minutes on a less than year old reasonably fast laptop.
     

    Attached Files:

    • in.mlt
      in.mlt
      File size:
      6.6 KB
      Views:
      353
    • ddg51.mlt
      ddg51.mlt
      File size:
      12.5 KB
      Views:
      337
  5. daiquiri
    Joined: May 2004
    Posts: 5,373
    Likes: 247, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 3380
    Location: Italy (Garda Lake) and Croatia (Istria)

    daiquiri Engineering and Design

    I've just ran both of them, no problems encountered. Less than 1 second for Rt calculation on a 3 yrs old laptop.
    Don't know what to say... Could it be perhaps something related to your international settings, like commas where dots should be, and viceversa?
     
  6. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    Thanks! I've run other software from Leo without any problems. My guess is it's a security setting or similar.
     
  7. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    Finally figured it out. Michlet behaves slightly differently than I anticipated.
     
  8. daiquiri
    Joined: May 2004
    Posts: 5,373
    Likes: 247, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 3380
    Location: Italy (Garda Lake) and Croatia (Istria)

    daiquiri Engineering and Design

    Well? That's all you can tell us? ;)
     
  9. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    What I've learned so far about runnng Michlet.

    1) One of the screen commands which plots resistance/drag needs to be executed to cause resistance/drag to be calculated. If you try exiting before calculating resistance/drag a warning message appears
    "**** Drag not calculated ****"
    but there is no indication of what to do to calculate drag.

    2) Output files including out.mlt, drag.mlt are not updated until Michlet is properly exited. This is mentioned in Chapter 9 of the manual.

    3) Some of the examples including ffg8.mlt and lasub.mlt also require an accompanying sploff1 file.

    :D
     
  10. Leo Lazauskas
    Joined: Jan 2002
    Posts: 2,696
    Likes: 149, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2229
    Location: Adelaide, South Australia

    Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

    In other words, you've learned that I'm serious when I say, "Read the manuals and do all the examples". :)

    Good luck!
    Leo.
     
  11. DCockey
    Joined: Oct 2009
    Posts: 4,858
    Likes: 397, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 1485
    Location: Midcoast Maine

    DCockey Senior Member

    Yes, that's I was trying to do. But I didn't find the first one in the manual of needing to use one of the screen commands to initiate drag calculation.
     

  12. Leo Lazauskas
    Joined: Jan 2002
    Posts: 2,696
    Likes: 149, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2229
    Location: Adelaide, South Australia

    Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

    The clue is in the first example in michexam.pdf:
    "To calculate resistance, press R from the main screen, then choose one of the display options".

    I guess I need to put it in the main manual as well as in the pdf with the examples.

    Leo.
     
    1 person likes this.
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.