Rhino... but WHICH Rhino?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Sue2, Jan 18, 2010.

1. Sue2

Sue2 New Member

Hi,

I am new to the forum and to boat design, although I have sailed for decades. I am a currently out-of-work mechanical engineer, and I have found an opportunity to do boat design... IF I can teach myself the software. The company uses Rhino. My background is in AutoCAD.

I have a copy of Rhino 3.0 that I have been playing with, and have a pretty good handle on the modelling basics (although lofting sometimes gives me fits!).

However, I can't seem to find any function that will allow me to give the model weight, calculate the waterline, and allow me to vary length and beam and weight distribution and watch how the waterline shifts.

Do I need a different version or plug-in, or am I just not finding it?

Any and all help appreciated!

-Sue

2. Windvang

Windvang Yacht Designer

Hello,

Rhino is a general modeling program, what you are looking for are the Rhino plug-in's from Orca3d. www.orca3d.com

This said, most designers start their design off in dedicated hull software, like Delftship or Maxsurf and then export the hull to Rhino.

3. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

Sue2,
    I think if you can make a nice drafting skill in Rhino 3, then it will be just enough, because drafting for boatdesign in rhino, basically depends on how expert you are on rhino such as making smooth curves, making smooth surfaces through a desired curve network etc.

So my openion is dont worry about he higher versions or plugins ,just go through manual and good tutorials of rhino and make your hand an expert one ,

Best of luck for you,

4. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

For the calculations you are talking about, you can make a GHS file by rhino and use the free software "archimedes" (it can read GHS file)which can be found in the following link:
    http://naval-architecture.co.uk/

5. Joe Petrich

Joe Petrich Designer

Sue,

Welcome to the forum.