Heave motion as a function of global time in Seakeeper

Discussion in 'Software' started by Lisa86, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Lisa86

Lisa86 New Member

Hello everybody!

My Name is Lisa and I'm a naval architect student from Hamburg in Germany. This is my first post in this forum, and maybe someone can help me.
    My Problem is, that I want to compare the ship motions by waves, for two different ships.
    Because I’m interested in mooring these two vessels, I used Seakeeper to simulate the heave and pitch motion.
    Now i require this movements as a function of time, to compare the difference in height directly.
    Does someone know how to do this in Formsys's Seakeeper or another PC-program?

Thank you!
    Lisa

1 person likes this.
  2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Just to clear this up, do you have the output motion spectras, the motion RAO's, or a time series? To determine "average" and "most probable maximum" motions between two different platforms, you need to do stoichastic analysis in the frequency domain, not direct comparison of motions in time series.

If you have time-displacement data you can use A Fast Fourier transform (FFT) to turn it into the frequency domain. From this spectra you can calculate the "average" , "significant" and "most probable maximum". If you have the RMS response or RAO's (both output from Seekeeper then you can use spectral analysis directly. See Dynamics of Marine Vehicles by Bhattacharyya or Mechanics of Wave Forces on Offshore Structures by Sarpkaya & Isaacson.

Edit: I just re-read the OP,
    Is it that you have the Response Spectra and now want to make a time series? That is a whole other ball of wax, and generally not advised or used in technical discussions because of the problems of either "cherry picking" the answer you want, or missing the answer you need.

3. Lisa86

Lisa86 New Member

Hello Jehardiman.