Opinions on this newbie amateur daysailer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Murdock, Oct 20, 2006.

1. Murdock

Murdock Junior Member

I'm an amateur sailor willing to build my first boat.
    As thinking on my dream daysailer, have seen lots of photos over the net, and still no one convinces me completely, so, got some freeship & cad stuff, and ended with this.
    2 handed daysailer:
    LOA 4.60 mts (14')
    Beam 1.40 mts (4' 9")
    Displ 0.187
    thinking on a 7 mts mast, mainsail + guenoa, even an assymetrical if worth the pain. no foiling (at least now, maybe later...)

would like some opinions on it
    thanks a lot
    Murdock Stevens

Attached Files:

• plan.jpg
      plan.jpg
      File size:
      66.6 KB
      Views:
    • side.jpg
      side.jpg
      File size:
      49.1 KB
      Views:
    • offsets.jpg
      offsets.jpg
      File size:
      121.5 KB
      Views:
    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      80.5 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      56.2 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      67.6 KB
      Views:
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      60.6 KB
      Views:
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      49.8 KB
      Views:
  2. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

You have to ask yourself what you want from a Daysailor.

My requirements may be very different to yours. I know a lot of people sail Wayfarer dinghies as daysailors, and they're very good for it. They can take a lot of abuse, they're very weight tolerant and are as stable as anything.

Personally I wanted something with a bit more performance. I decided to buy a LARK, a 1970s racing boat. It's performance is impressive, if not quite up to modern standards, but it has the benefit of being built strong, and having lots of storage under the foredeck. Therefore, I can take the tent, a sleeping bag and change of clothes, and go off somewhere for a weekend, or I can take the kit out and just go out sailing.