Going from electric to gas

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by dskira, Jul 26, 2013.

1. dskira

dskira Previous Member

WalMart sell electric outboard for $160. Why not buying that and out a small air cooled gas engine on top? Far more efficient on power and range, since 1.5 gallons of gas will enough for the season (tender use) and the battery is gone.
    Going against the trend, I know, it will not green anymore, but far more practical.
    Any thought in this crazy idea? I say crazy because I am not a mechanic, and I will not know how to transform it.
    I just made a simple addition: $160 for the electric outboard + $99 for a 3hp vertical shaft engine at Surplus center.
    the engine is the price of a good battery you have to buy anyway on top of the engine!

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

It would work if the motor is at the top, plus you can put the surplus electric motor to some other use, like an anchor winch.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Most every electric trolling motor I've seen has the whole motor assembly under the water. The shaft just contains two wires. The motors on these cheap trolling setups are a direct drive arrangement, so no gears, just a control head to switch the polarity, so it'll run backwards.

4. dskira

dskira Previous Member

Thank you gentleman, one of my morning thought going down the drain.
    I didn't thought about the motor been underwater.
    I suppose putting a mini-generator on top of the outboard will be quite a bizarre contraction.
    Well that will be for an other morning thought.
    Enough embarrassment for today. :eek:

5. El_Guero

El_Guero Previous Member

And I thought you were going to use a snorkel.

:)

6. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder