Mercruiser 3 LTR with Alpha 1 leg

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by TomJones2, Mar 16, 2008.

1. TomJones2

TomJones2 Junior Member

Hi

I am very new to powerboating having just bought what looks like a very nice 1992 Bayliner 1952 Cuddy classic, I am an engineer and run a Marine engineering company so am hoping to learn all about the boat and work on it myself.

Everything about it looks and sounds ok, the previous owner demonstrated it in the water and all seemed fine but an inspection of the Alpha 1 sterndrive this morning has revealed what looks like a small pipe or control cable sheath on the left hand side of the leg (looking from the rear)

It is clipped to a larger pipe which comes through the stern from the engine bay . I cannot see where it goes inside the engine bay yet but it goes to a connection in the back of the sterndrive just above the anode plate.

The pipe / sheath has snapped , has anyone any idea what it might be ? I have just sent off for a shop manual which will no doubt tell me , but in the meanwhile if anyone can give a newbie a clue I would be gratefull. It is out of the water at the moment in my shop so there is a limited amount I can check at the moment.

Thanks

Tom

2. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Tom I hate to see people go away without an answer. I suppose you will think the forum only speaks to the familar and shuns newbies? This is'nt of course the case. The problem as I see it is your question ,-you are an engineer and run an engineering company but dont know what it is?-- pipe or sheath.

I suppose most people will think you taking the P and prefer to leave the engineer to work out his own problems.

3. TomJones2

TomJones2 Junior Member