Want to have a go

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by lack, Jun 23, 2010.

1. lack

lack New Member

gday all,
    for quite a few years now ive wanted to build my own all purpose center console to suite my needs,can anyone give me some tips and maybe point me in the right direction on obtaining plans materials etc....
    iam a panelbeater by trade and also weld alloy....
    cheers peoples

2. raw

raw Senior Member

Lack,

I have some offshore capable options that might suit you depending on what you had in mind.

Send me a pm with your contact details (email etc) and a little more information and I'll get back to you. Also Queensland Based.

Raw

3. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

:idea: For a one off id do a cardboard and masking tape mock up first to get a simple basic shape ,you can cut and add and change quickly .
    Then move on to something better like 3 of 4 mm mdf board also taped together and do some long hard thinking and sitting behind etc etc even to the point of putting it into the boat if its possible . Do paper cut outs of instruments and make a shape for the controls etc etc . Remember its got to be functional !!,sit or standing behind and around all sides ,once its been totally sorted and the bugs ironed out choose what materials you are going to make it from !. :D

4. lack

lack New Member

thanks peoples...
    ive had a bit of a play around with sheet metal models,i think i have the or some basic knowlege of how it all goes together,but iam hear to learn as much as i possably can before i start...

5. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Dont be in to much of a hurry to make the console . Pull up a chair and sit with a cup of tea ! do you have a place where you can stand a cup ?