What's the best way to learn boat design as a hobby?

Discussion in 'Education' started by adt2, Sep 29, 2009.

1. adt2

adt2 Senior Member

I have no interest in becoming a professional yacht designer, and I don't intend to make it a career. I simply have a long-standing passion for boats - particularly old, wood boats - and a dream to "sell up and sail" one day. I am currently a technical writer and graphic designer; I have a ton of experience in AutoCAD and SolidWorks, but no experience with Rhino.

I've bought and received the first lesson in the YDS course; it's mostly fluff, but, to be fair, they tell you right on the website that the first lesson is more of an "intro" course - which is why it only costs half of what one of their normal lessons costs. The first lesson is supposed to be read along with Chapelle's Yacht Designing and Planning, which is a wonderful book, and Skene's Elements of Yacht Design, which sucks quite badly. It's like reading a Victorian-era Excel spreadsheet (if there were such a thing). I'm sure the formulas are wonderful references, but, quite frankly, it's like reading about watching paint drying.

Anyhoo, I was just wondering what the state-of-the-art is these days on opinions about boat design education. With no ambitions to make any money at this, have I gone overboard by signing up for a course? Or is YDS a cost-effective way to learn what I want to learn (namely, to be able to design a safe, seaworthy vessel that won't float upside-down and doesn't look like Ray Charles did it at night)?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Be humble and read the postings from this group of boat designers. Collectively, you will benefit from centuries of experience with tried and true, as well as, new methods. I just joined this month and already am awed by the magnitude of knowledge being shared by the stellar minds on this site.

3. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member