Maxsurf VS Autoship

Discussion in 'Software' started by christos, Jan 31, 2002.

1. christos

christos Junior Member

Bit confused here, Im in the middle of evaluating both the Maxsurf and Autoship demo versions and have'nt reached to a conclusion yet. Any suggestions from your personal experience will be very helpful.
    Thanks

2. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

A difficult choice as both Autoship and Maxsurf are very good programs. Both also have a comparable selection of integrated add-ons for hydrostatics/stability, performance prediction/powering/resistance, and structural drawing. Unfortunately I can’t really comment on the differences as I have no experience with the modules in question (Maxsurf offers span which doesn’t have a direct counterpart, whereas Autoship offers AutoNC for CNC/nesting). I’m a bit surprised that after working with the demos for a while you don’t already have some preferences? Have you talked with both companies already? One thing which is important to me is not only the current software but also the people behind the software, because with a major investment in both money and time to learn a particular suite of programs, you want to be sure that development and support will continue to be strong long into the future.

It might be interesting to have an idea of the work you will be doing with the program, or what special needs you might have.

3. christos

christos Junior Member

Maxusrf VS Autoship

Jeff,
    thanks for your reply, we presently use the Wolfson Unit Shipshape for hull fairing and the Hydrostatics & stbility suite for further calculations.
    Maybe you have heard about this software, it uses B-splines instead of the surface approach that both the Maxsurf and Autoship use.