Maxsurf Modeler Tanks

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Mitch1990, May 14, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Mitch1990

Mitch1990 Junior Member

Hi,

I am very new to Maxsurf and am terrible at it, I am at the point where I understand that surfaces create decks and bulkheads. One of my design parameters is to include a 250m3 fuel tank in the double bottom. I used the ABS rules to determine a double bottom depth of 0.9m (ish). Is there a way to use the volume of the tank to govern the location of the FWD bulkhead of said tank? At the moment I am manually iterating to it.

Also, where do I find the minimum number of water tight bulkheads in ABS? In DNVGL there is a table with lengths that specify bulkhead numbers. This does not appear to exist in ABS in Part 3 and it directs me to the SOLAS convention which is not the easiest thing I have ever read and well beyond me at this stage.

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I think you should proceed in reverse. Deduct, according to the service of the tank, the volume that you need and establish its situation so that its CoG is, more or less, in the position that interests you. Then you can make 4 or 5 sections of that tank, integrate them and check that you get the desired volume.
    Regarding the number of watertight bulkheads, place one at the fore peak, another at the after peak, and do a study of floodable lengths (Maxsurf does it quickly) to determine the maximum length that each compartment of your boat can have. That gives you the minimum number of watertight transverse bulkheads your boat should have.

Mitch1990 likes this.
  3. Mitch1990

Mitch1990 Junior Member

The floodable length analysis is ABS compliant. I know there was a move towards damage simulation for damage stability analysis and survivability moving away from strict directions.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member