What if I connect this wire to this wire

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Frosty, Jul 17, 2011.

1. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

IF I get my multi meter and check the voltage of Live and neutral I should get 220V approx.

If I connect live to Earth through the multi meter I should get 220V

If I got 150V what would that mean.

A that I have a bad earth or

B that I have 70 v in the earth?

C and how would I check the earth for voltage?

2. Dave Gudeman

Dave Gudeman Senior Member

Er. I'm not an electrician either, and normally I would not reply to this because I'm not confident that I know the answer, but I'm pretty sure the above answer is wrong and I hate to leave it there misleading people. So, until an actual expert comes along ...

There are various electrical setups that use three wires. As I understand it (which may be wrong) you can have a split-phase system with two hot wires and a ground. You should see 220 between the two hot wires and 110 between either hot wire and the ground. There are also 3-phase systems where you should see 220 between two hot wires and 127 between either hot wire and ground.

There may be other three-wire systems as well. Basically, you have to find out what your house or marina is supposed to be supplying before you can decide if it is correct.

3. Saildude

Saildude Junior Member

Hi Frosty - lets see if I can throw some more mud on they answer - Dave is correct in that there are more than one "3 wire" systems - it looks like from my looking a bit on the internet (if it's on the internet is must be the truth :) ) - is that Thailand is a 220 volt two wire system for household type use. However Ground or Earth should always be at zero (give or take for bad wiring) - you should have 220 V from hot to neutral and 220 v from hot to ground. (I am assuming that you are not using a 3 phase system, which if that was the case there would be a 4th wire that is ground or earth)