kinds or release fabric/peel ply

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Anatol, Apr 22, 2017.

1. Anatol

Anatol Senior Member

Hi all,
    I'm doing some large areas of hand layup (epoxy/glass over ply). I'm not experienced with peel ply but anything to get a smooth surface and avoid sanding is a plus. I will not be vac bagging. I found kitchen cling-wrap serves well on small areas. Does anyone have suggestions for best, and best value, disposable or reusable release fabric for, say, an area like an 8x4 ply sheet?
    thanks!

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Cling wrap works ok, until you get a bit caught in a tight corner and then it tears. It also bunches up badly sometimes, and is hard to squeegee flat.

You might get some 'taffeta' from a fabric shop for cheap, but make sure you test a small batch, as some have blends of other fabrics and tend to stick to the surface badly.

The commercial brands have performed best, and I favour the ones with a coloured stripe to make it easier to see when removing it.

Best results happen when using smaller sections on compound surfaces, as long sections tend to bunch up - for example. I would use two pieces on an 8 x 4 sheet of plywood for ease of application. Any ridges left are easily sandable, and will reduce the 'crease lines' that are often obtained when trying to lay a large section.

3. Anatol

Anatol Senior Member

"You might get some 'taffeta' from a fabric shop for cheap, but make sure you test a small batch, as some have blends of other fabrics and tend to stick to the surface badly"

I've seen elsewhere people talking of using nylon shower curtain. Does nylon cloth release because its nylon or because of a characteristic of the weave? I suppose one wants a fabric which is not wettable by epoxy?
    Could one spray a release material on a fabric?
    What about the nylon polyamide superfine weave used for sikscreening? That's tough, but may be more expensive than peel ply :)