Newbie building 1st boat (runabout)

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by footer32, Jun 6, 2007.

1. footer32

footer32 Junior Member

I am new to the site and have enjoyed reading all of the great material.

I am an avid boater and woodworker and for a very long time have wanted to put the two together.

NOW IS THE TIME!!!

I am looking to build a mahogony runabout 18'-21'

Looking for any insight on style, design, plans, recommendations of any kind would love to hear it all.

Thanks

2. Trevlyns

Trevlyns Senior Citizen/Member

I’m surprised no one has welcomed you yet – so let me be the first! :p

YOU HAVE FINALLY ARRIVED! All the information you ever need (and more) is in this forum. Take some time to soak it all in, ignor (or enjoy) the idiots… In any event, it's good to call you one of the lads!

Your question is fairly vague and it’s a bit like trying to find the proverbial needle in a haystack. I think it’s important to have a basic idea of what you’re looking for in this wide world of boating. You have a size in mind; this is good, now you need to narrow down the choices. Obviously there are many designs within the specified length you mentioned.

Try gathering as much information on the designs in that range. A good start would simply be to go to Google and type in “mahogany boat” – that should keep you going for the next couple of years!

Ultimately, your boat must have significance to YOU. What do you want (look-wise?) How much are you prepared to spend, how much power, must it be trailable or will it be moored? These are all questions only you can answer.

I wish you well on your search for the perfect boat and, hey, when you find it, be sure and let us other fellas know! We’re always here to help and there is definitely no shortage of experts – so keep the questions rolling.

Take care

3. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Welcome Footer,