how is draft, waterline, displacement determined

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by electriceric, May 5, 2006.

1. electriceric

electriceric Junior Member

I built a sailing dinghy (D4 by Mertens-Goossens) last year. She sails well for my purpose. However my wife and I are a bit cramped in it. So I decided to build a new boat that can carry 2 adults and a kid.

I started drawing plans until I realized that I didn't know how to determine stuff such as draft, waterline, displacement and other technical stuff.

So my question is "How are these things determined? Is there a theory or mathematical formula for this?" Can someone please point me to the right direction?

Thanks in advance,

eric

2. Grant Nelson

Grant Nelson Senior Member

Hi,

You are kind of asking the same as if I asked about a car: how do you determine the lenght, width, height, wheel size and engine size... it all depends on what you want to do with the boat.

Your first criteria seems to be more room. Room for what - sitting, sunning, sleeping, cooking, etc... and room for what 'stuff'?

But keep in mind the eventual size - if you are trailering, etc.

The is this a sailing for powerboat.

Once you know these, the best thing if for you to browse the internet for boats that come close to what you want, and note not only the displacement, etc. but also the shape of the hull... as this is key to all aspects of your boat - its performance, sea-keeping ability, etc.

In fact, unless you like designing a lot, you might want to consider buying some plans for around 100$. Will save you a lot of time, and you will get something you know works and looks like you like. Maybe some others can suggest designs, or sites of designs?

Cheers,
    Grant

3. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

One nice book is "How to design a boat" by John Teale(?).