Houseboat swim deck

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Webe, Feb 6, 2015.

1. Webe

Webe New Member

I'm new to this so please excuse me if my terminology is not correct. I have bought my first boat and I guess you could say it's my midlife crisis toy even though it's for my family. I hope this is the correct place to post this question...

I have a 1997 boatel 50' houseboat on a fresh water lake. I had a 8 foot swim deck attached on the stern for the kids. I want to have two jetskis loaded on the swim deck and have the loading and unloading issue solved. My question is how do I figure how much bouyancy I need to compensate in the back? The jet skis will weight in at 680 pounds each, about 500 pounds worth of metal to build the swim deck and support the weight for a total of 1860 pounds. I currently have about 10240 (X 2) pounds of force with my pontoons (part that is in the water) plus or minus the angled front and back portions. I can do the calculations but I'm not confident with where to add the bouyancy.

We have played with the idea of building a single pontoon in the center of the swim deck. Not sure if that is the best idea. I'm not really worried about how it effects the steering since I will not be moving it much unless it would be unsafe.

Sorry my question is so long and please be gentle with my newbie question. Like I said, this is my first boat and an excited to spend time with my family at the lake!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

One cubic foot of water weighs aproximately 62.4lb. If you house boat is on two pontoons, extending them would be the easiest solution. The submerged volume multiplied by 62.4, should equal the 1860 lb plus the weight of the extensions.

3. Poida

Poida Senior Member