Malaysian Boat Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Tom Ask, Jul 22, 2010.

1. Tom Ask

Tom Ask Junior Member

Last year I was a Visiting Professor at UTM in Malaysia studying boat design. I have bunch of photos if anyone is interested. Last time I was there was 1995 and not much had changed as far as the design.

Here are some photos.

Attached Files:

2. Tom Ask

Tom Ask Junior Member

Malaysia

Here are some more pix.

Attached Files:

3. Tom Ask

Tom Ask Junior Member

Malaysia

Here are some more.

Attached Files:

4. troy2000

troy2000 Senior Member

I wish I had all that wood to play with....

5. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

WOW i love it!! CAN you share some more please ?? This is very interesting !! Would like to hear about you being there and what things are like !!.
    Nice one !!:p

6. Thomas Ask

Thomas Ask Junior Member

Malaysia

Here some more, enjoy.

Attached Files:

7. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Hello
    Thank yu so much for shareing this , So simple and straight forward . Have spent time working on Japanese houses and learned there fancy joints and the lojic behind what they do . Have also spent time watching a old Tahitian guy teach his young guys how to make and repair Copra boats . Its so simple and once you see how its done its all falls into place . Simple tools and simple ways but skills that can only be learned from a master at his job .!!!!
    Thank you so so much ;) . !!!!:D