21Ft Tug, Corten steel?

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by robmill54, Sep 11, 2008.

1. robmill54

robmill54 Junior Member

Hi everyone, I've been lurking around here for a awhile and haven't posted much. Just trying to learn as much as possible here.
    I've just finished lofting my new project, a 21ft Mal Low designed Tug.
    I had considered building her in epoxy-ply, as I am a graduate of the old Bath Apprentice Shop in Bath Me, and have built several wood boats, so I'm comfortable in the material.
    My plans for the tug are pleasure use in protected waters here in Florida. While I've done a little metal fabricationg before and some Mig welding, I'm leaning towards build her in steel.
    Mal calls for Corten steel and my welding is amatuer at best as well as the cost factor.
    Do you think it's necessary to use Corten vs, mild steel?
    The scantling are:
    Frames- 3/16" x 3 1/2" flat stock
    Hull 3/16" plate for the bottom, 10 guage for the sides
    Deck- 1/8" plate.

The hull is flat bottomed and straight sided. The frames are really just large rectangles. Here a few images and a builders model of the hull which should give you a good idea of the project.

Comments/Suggestions?
    Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. kmorin

kmorin Senior Member

Steel Grade for Tug

robmill54,

Unless you ask the designer why some material was specified you can't be sure. If can ask you my find out a reason that doesn't apply to you, or you may be a contribution for that design element's justification in skill level, home building without forming equipment or welding ease.

Corten is just stiffer than more common plate/sheet and may have been specified to allow less experience builders/welders to keep the hull's panels more fair and smooth due to this material's increased stiffness.