Magnum Powerboat in the Carribean? Screenplay writer asks...

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by SuttonLounge, Aug 8, 2007.

1. SuttonLounge

SuttonLounge Junior Member

I am a writer doing research for a movie screenplay. I've got a serious question and I hope those in the know will blow away my cloud or tell me I am on to something that is plausible.

Bascially I want to know if a chap can cruise the Carribean in a Magnum Powerboat and if so what magnum may do the best job? Can it cruise the Windwards, Martinique to Grenada? Can it moor in St. Lucia close to the Pitons?
    What could such a chap encounter with such a boat (reactions by locals, pirates, possible moorings and issues with morring a power yacht, reactions by other yacht-going people).

This screenplay involves a chap and a girl on the run from their past. The law isn't after them, but they both lost their spouses and decide to cruise and find a new way of life. The run afoul of St. Vincentian bad guys. There is murder, intrigue, and lots of local color.

Research will be made real by my taking a boat trip to the Windwards after I collect material. Nice to make new friends here and there!

Props in advance to any and all who reply, incl acknowledgements if the story gets bought.

Cheers !
    Kevin N.

Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  2. Steve H

Steve H Senior Member

3. USCGRET/E8

USCGRET/E8 Senior Chief

It sounds feasible if they are rich, as that would be a lot of expensive gas getting guzzled. As for pirates, I doubt they could catch a Mag. They might get boarded by the USCG regulary, as all go fasts out and about are suspect as smugglers.
    I was stationed on a USCG 95' Patrol Cutter in the mid-80's out of Key West.
    Back in the day of Crockett and Tubbs!

4. SuttonLounge

Reply to Steve H

Thanks Steve. I was thinking even too of a bigger Magnum like the 50. Isn't it very fast? Magnum literature states too that it can handle distance and rough sea: