Lumber dimensions in wooden boat plans (a noob question)

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by old750, Sep 11, 2007.

1. old750

old750 Junior Member

So I'm looking at some of the free plans out of Popular Mechanix magazines and wonder, when these old plans with BOMs state x number of 2x4s, do they mean 2"x4" or do they mean standard 1.5"x3.5" lumber. Can someone clarify? What about NEW plans? Does 2x4 mean 2"x4"?

2. Zeus314

Zeus314 Junior Member

Good question! I can only tell you that 2x4s have been 1 1/2" x3 1/2" at least for the last 35 years that I have been a carpenter. I have done a lot of restoration work and the general time frame going back in time that I start seeing 2x4s that actually measure 2" x 4" is in the 1930's. They used to use the wording "actual" and "nominal" dimensions to diferentiate, perhaps you will find that or an abrieviation of same in your old plans.

3. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

I have seen it both ways in modern plans. At times the materials list will specify sizes predressed but the plans always show them the real size. If it is in a drawing ( and I know the Pop Mech ones are not to scale) it would of course be scalable.

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

They mean Home Depot 2 x 4s, the 1 1/2" x 3 1/2" size. I base this on the notion that Pop. Mechanics is geared for neophyte home builders and as such would expect home builders to interpret 2 x 4 as if he were reading a lumber list for a backyard shed.
    The magazine may have included a note that "dimensional lumber" was being used as is. if not, they should have.