Love Boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kostisoutback, Feb 9, 2016.

1. kostisoutback

kostisoutback Junior Member

I will start by saying hello. My name is Kostis and I am not a boat designer. I have a question and if this is the wrong place please move the thread and accept my apologizes. So my question.

My perfect boat is (and i don't want to insult other peoples designs) Lyle Hess cutter. I love the fact that you get almost as much space down bellow as you your length on deck. Also I love 2 things about the rescue ships designed by Colin Archer. 1) The rigging. Gaff rigged ketch!!! 2) The space on deck. But I don't like the double enders because of aesthetic preferences and because I think some space is wasted.

My question now. How do i go about it? Hire an architect? Hire an architect and buy Hess plan and have him adjusted?

I guess I will hear from you the obvious that buying a used boat is going to be so much cheaper.... etc etc. What is my experience in boat building, and if I have pockets.

Well, I have none of that. No experience no deep pockets. But I can still dream. So, to make things easier I wanted to ask If it would be possible to have the frame lofted out so I would just do the hull and deck.

Thank you for your time.

P.S. 1 My sail area of interest would be very north open seas.

P.S.2 Please, who ever feels the need to tell me I am an idiot, I already know that. So just stick to the subject.

2. kostisoutback

Did i say something wrong here?

3. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Maybe no-one noticed your enquiry just yet. But is sounds "ambitious" with no experience and a shortage of funds.

4. kostisoutback

It is Mr Efficiency. But It does not need to be completed all at once. From the info I shared is there an other boat coming to your mind that comes close?

Thank you for answering

5. Mr Efficiency