Looking for a Boat Building Book

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by robothobo, Dec 12, 2008.

1. robothobo

robothobo New Member

Hi there,

I don't mean to spam up your forums here but I need some help, and heck if I know enough about boats to even pass the registration quiz here. Took like three tries.

My dad is retiring soon and has been talking about perhaps building a boat. I'm an engineering student and he's a modest craftsman so I'd imagine the scale of the project would have to fit a hobbyist's level of input, with at most a couple workers. He likes powerboats but has taken sailing lessons in the past and used to sail casually in his younger days. Either of those options could be suitable at this point.

Chances are this is might just be a phase of interest but I would like to encourage him anyways and was thikning of getting maybe a book or two on boat building (think beginner's/small size boat). I don't underestimate how hard a project like that probably is, but still at this point seeing as his retirement is a couple years away I wanted something in the beginner's vein and thought that this might be a nice place to consult.

As such I am petitioning for reccomendations, please forgive me if I have gone against the forum conduct here, I'm clearly not a regular vistor. Anything available by amazon.ca/chapters.ca etc. would be great as my local book stores have had nothing in stock.

(Also a slightly off topic follow up, I thought a small cheapish ship model kit might be a nice present accompaniment any reccomendations for a line or type? It'd be very neat to present him a book on building a small class of boat and have a model that represents it for him to assembly and dream over. I was thinking something small and plastic-y not one of those massive wooden accurate/to-scale reproduction ones)