Information regarding recycling of wastes generated from small fiber glass boatmaking

Discussion in 'Services & Employment' started by sivaramakrishna, Mar 4, 2002.

1. sivaramakrishna

sivaramakrishna Junior Member

Dear All,

I am a graduate student at the University of New Orleans and m in need of information on recycling of fiberglass wastes generated from small fiber glass boat making as a part of my thesis work.

I shall greately appreciate it if you could furnish the required the information of tell me the sources from where I can fish these information myself.

Thanks and Regards,

Siva.

2. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

Continued at: http://boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?threadid=410

Note that it's best not to cross post (it's best to not post the exact same question/thread to multiple forums), as it's easier to follow if all replies to a question are grouped in one thread. Don't take this the wrong way, as this isn't directed only at you, but I thought it would be a good idea to post this as a general guideline for everyone. Welcome to the forums, and I hope you will continue to visit and post here.

3. Marcus

Marcus Guest

Natural Resources Spe******t

Siva,

I work for the Corps of Engineers in Central Texas and we have some fiberglass boats that people have discarded in our lakes. We are interested in recycling these boats rather than taking them to a dump. What have you found in regards to recycling fiberglass boats? Is there a place in TX or LA where these old fiberglass boats can be recycled? I'd appreciate any information.

Thanks,
    Marcus

4. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Gentlemen,

I wrote a comprehensive article on recycling fiberglass boats in Professional Boatbuilder magazine, issue #60, August/September, 1999, entitled "Recycling Dead Boats". If you cannot get a copy directly from Professional Boatbuilder, www.proboat.com, send me an email at ewsponberg@sponbergyachtdesign.com, and I'll send you a photocopy.